Montrose R-XIV School District

"Equip individual learners to be productive citizens in a diverse world."

March 18, 2024

Open Session Board Minutes

The Board was provided dinner prior to the meeting to show appreciation for all they do for our staff, students and school.

Mrs. Wareham, Board President, called the Board meeting to order at 7:12 pm in the math classroom.

Board Members present: Richard Bailey Kimberly Carter Johnnie Hilte

Rick Kalwei Janna Wareham

Board Members virtual (Google Meet): Charles Meredith Karl Monard

No visitors were present.

A motion to approve the agenda with an amendment to add DESE Clinton Tech School Embedded Credits to new business was made by Mr. Bailey and seconded by Mrs. Carter. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion to approve minutes with amendments from the February 21, 2024 meeting was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Bailey. Motion carried 7-0.

Mrs. Drehle presented the financial information for February.

A motion was made by Mrs. Carter and seconded by Mr. Hilte to revise our Levy (350531) and Bond (356503) bank accounts at Montrose Savings Bank to become interest bearing accounts. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion to approve check #47768 through #47842 was made by Mrs. Carter and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Old Business

There was an update given by Mrs. Drehle on capital projects. The code to the gate has been changed due to the issue of it not closing properly. Looking into ways to fix this issue.

New Business

A motion to approve the proposed embedded credits provided by DESE that Clinton Tech School will be using was made by Mrs. Carter and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion to accept the contract addendum from OPAA! Food Management was made by Mr. Meredith and seconded by Mr. Hilte. Motion failed 0-7.

CSIP update: Mrs. Drehle reported to the Board information about professional development and the teacher leader standards. The District has a PD committee and the Board adopted a PD plan/handbook last year.

A motion to go into closed session was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei at 8:10 pm. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea Carter-Yea Hilte-Yea Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea Monard-Yea Wareham-Yea

EXECUTIVE SESSION (Closed session, including any record or vote, to the extent that it may relate to the following) 3. Personnel matters when information concerning the performance or merit of employees is discussed or recorded as provided in section 610.021.

A motion to return to open session was made by Mr. Bailey and seconded by Mr. Hilte at 8:30 pm. Motion carried 7-0.

A motion to accept Shayla Gatzemeyer's Resignation was made by Mr. Bailey and seconded by Mr. Hilte. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea Carter-Yea Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea Meredith-Yea Monard-Yea Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Jerome Anderson for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea Carter-Yea Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea Meredith-Yea Monard-Yea Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Cassidy Cooper for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea Carter-Yea Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea Meredith-Yea Monard-Yea Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire William DeMalade for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Carter-Yea Bailey-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Felicia Foster for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea

Carter-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Melissa Foster for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea

Carter-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Trey Foster for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea

Carter-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Richard Grishow for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea

Carter-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Paige Kimsey for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea

Carter-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Heidi Logemann for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea

Carter-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Carol McEwan for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea

Carter-Yea

Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea

Monard-Yea

Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Theresa McIntosh for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea Carter-Yea Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea Meredith-Yea Monard-Yea Wareham-Yea

A motion to rehire Bethany Strope for the 2024-2025 school year was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Kalwei. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea Carter-Yea Hilte-Yea

Kalwei-Yea Meredith-Yea Monard-Yea Wareham-Yea

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Mr. Hilte and seconded by Mr. Meredith at 8:31 pm. Motion carried 7-0.

Bailey-Yea Carter-Yea Hilte-Yea Kalwei-Yea

Meredith-Yea Monard-Yea Wareham-Yea

Janna Wareham, Board President

Amy Wagner, Secretary to the Board